The Karolinska Institutet Prize for Research in Medical Education

This major international prize is awarded for outstanding research in medical education.

The purpose of the prize is to recognize and stimulate high-quality research in the field, and to promote long-term improvements in educational practice. The term “medical” includes all education and training for all health science professions.

The prize has been made possible through the financial support of the Gunnar Höglund and Anna-Stina Malmborg Foundation, established in 2001, and is awarded biennially. The Foundation’s statutes were formulated jointly by Karolinska Institutet and the founders. The Foundation undertakes to finance the awarded sum, while the prizewinner is selected by Karolinska Institutet (and formally approved by the Foundation). The founders are doctors and researchers who have been active in Karolinska Institutet for many years.

Former prizewinners


Professor John Norcini, Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER), USA


Professor Cees van der Vleuten, Maastricht University, the Netherlands


Professor David Irby, UCSF School of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, USA

Professor Richard Reznick, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada


Professor Geoffrey Norman, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada


Professor Ronald Harden, Centre for Medical Education, University of Dundee, UK


Professor Henk Schmidt, Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam, the Netherlands